Design Tips: Typography

Tips on choosing fonts:

  • It is important to take your time when choosing a font, otherwise your design will look rushed and unpolished.
  • Use a clear, readable font that is appropriate for your content.
  • Although there are many options available, don’t overdo it. A combination of two web-safe fonts is sufficient. Sometimes less is more.
Fonts can be divided into two main categories: ‘Serif fonts’ and ‘Sans Serif fonts’. Serif Fonts
  • Serif fonts have a small line attached to the end of a stroke in a letter or symbol.
  • These fonts are very effective as headings.
  • They create an ‘old’ style.
  • Studies have suggested that Serif fonts are easier to read in printed media.
Sans Serif Fonts
  • Sans Serif fonts do not have the same lines as Serif fonts (‘Sans’ is the French word for ‘without’).
  • These fonts are simple and clean.
  • They are easy to read.
  • Sans Serif fonts work well in smaller font sizes too.
At the end of the day, it comes down to personal preference. Here is a nifty little infographic from the guys at UrbanFonts about the battle between Serif and Sans Serif fonts. The designers of these websites got it right: Flint Boutique flint-boutique-website Caava Design caava-design Knuckles Industries knuckles McDonalds My Burger mcdonalds-my-burger Why you love Christmas why-you-love-christmas Brancott Estate Pioneers brancottestate Hugo Mingoia — UX & UI Designer Hugo-Mingoia Vintage Hope vintage-hope Revelation Concept revelation-concept Go Nocturnal go-nocturnal Crop The Block crop-the-block  ]]>

Leave a Comment